Mom, I will 6

Crowd was waiting. Buddha name was echoing in the mountains. For first time silence of the valley broke. Snow cap mountain were golden. Evening star had kissed the sky. Orion had taken its shape in a distant east. As golden bird began to set in west it sparked a fire in Woods. Golden brown leaves whistling and creaking with Autumn breeze. Winter equinoxe had begun and which shows September was coming to end. Away from all these noises. Locked in a room rohan was playing guitar rifting a lynard skynrd song free bird 

If I leave here tomorrow Would you still remember me For I must be travelin’ on now There’s too many places I got to see

. His fingers dances like fire fly one chord to another one string to another. His hands had the magic. He heard a knock over the door. Someone said Rohan its 30 September. Wake up.There was pause .Rohan looked over the window pane. Filled with paper and notes. One of them written in rain night says

 “Here comes the rain again .Falling from the stars .Drenched in my pain again .Becoming who we are .As my memory rests .But never forgets what I lost .Wake me up when September ends .Summer has come and passed .The innocent can never last .Wake me up when September ends. Like my mother’s come to pass seven years has gone so fast. Wake me up when September”

He  stood up. Went to wall took out a picture. He smiled at it. And somewhere in that smile tear fell over pic. He folded it in his pocket. Tuned his blue fender Stratocaster guitar which his mother gifted him on his 18 birthday. He opened the door old monk on wheel chair smiled on him. They met for first time in 7 years. Nobody saw rohan aftr that evening seven years ago. When his mother died. He locked himself in room with iPod and guitar. Use to walk in bamboo forest till late in night in search of peace an enlightenment. Old monk use to watch him every night. He touched monks feet and went to the ground where hundreds of monks in mehroon rob and villager with pashmina shwal sat with their eyes stuck to see old monk annual speech. But today there was no speech. Rohan  walk up to the staged. Pin drop silence covered ground. There was moment of absolute silence . Today was her mother’s death anniversary.  guitar started to weep finger dancing from A major to C from 1 fret to 7 fret. With lips speaking his heart out.

I was looking back on my life

And all the things I’ve done to me

I’m still looking for the answers

I’m still searching for the key

The wreckage of my past keeps haunting me

It just won’t leave me alone

I still find it all a mystery

Could it be a dream?

Is this the real life?

Is this just fantasy?

Caught in a landslide,

No escape from reality.

Mama, life had just begun,

But now I’ve gone and thrown it all away.

Mama, ooh,

Didn’t mean to make you cry,

If I’m not back again this time tomorrow,

Carry on, carry on as if nothing really matters.

Too late, my time has come,

Sends shivers down my spine,

Body’s aching all the time.

Goodbye, everybody, I’ve got to go,

Gotta leave you all behind and face the truth.

Mama, ooh

I don’t wanna die,

I sometimes wish I’d never been born at alllllllllll……

Fingre tearing string apart. Making the best guitar solo of all time. Cloud  started crying. Rain was in themountain. Whole atmosphere was filled with petrichor. Rain sound mixing with guitar made it a song made in heaven. All eyes were stuck over rohan. Wet in rain shivering but not a single person left his place

How can you love me and leave me to die. Mama, oooooooohhhhhhhhhhhh…… 

Rohan fell on his knees. Picture of his mother fell outside. He took that photo and kissed. In the distance old monk was crying, looking towards the sky he held his hands and said 

“Mrs Mehta, rohan did it. He is free now.”..

Leave a Reply

